Porträt & Reportage

Elina Duni: finding lightness

A debut solo album, Partir, is just one aspect of Elina Duni's new found freedom in music and songwriting after a journey into the pain of loss.

Debra Richards - 2018-06-12
Elina Duni: finding lightness - @Eduard Pagria
@Eduard Pagria
Elina Duni: finding lightness - @Clement Puig
@Clement Puig

A frame drum in hand, crying out...

Two years ago, in a dark hallway behind the Zürich club, Moods, Elina Duni played me a recording of her singing in English, and she wanted to know if her intonation in this foreign language was correct, she needed it to sound genuine. Elina was on an odyssey that has become her solo album on ECM, Partir

The word 'partir' resonates with feeling. In English it's 'leave' or 'depart' and Elina specifically chose it as the title, “I had just moved to Zürich and I was uncertain about my future because the quartet [Elina Duni Quartet] had decided to take a break and I'd come out of a big, long, love story. It was a moment that I knew I had to do this journey alone. To overcome this loneliness I had to go deep into it...I had to trust that something good was going to come out of this place of 'nowhere' - where I felt I was.”

Elina had begun to try out ideas in a show at Cully Jazz back in 2015. I remember the gig so clearly: she came from the back of Le Temple, a charming, little church, with a frame drum in hand, crying out as she walked. It was so raw that my throat tightened immediately, tears formed; it had a physical impact. Accompanying herself on piano and guitar, she took us through songs of loss and love, alone onstage.

“they are songs that appealed to me”

The performance was driven by her feeling of exile: from the town she'd been living, from her band, and from a potent love affair. It mirrored her difficult experience of leaving Albania for Switzerland as a child, and made her think of Syrian refugees being forced to leave their homes, “Their story is more tragic, they have nothing and have to trust the unknown, they have to go on. It was a strong moment, when I thought I could put these three stories together as a show. I started writing the texts. I took songs, some that I already knew and others, I can't say how I picked them up, this is a mystery to me, but they are songs that appealed to me.” To her surprise when she approached Manfred Eicher at ECM he said he wanted to make it into an album. 

Partir includes chanson, fado and Balkan traditionals, drawn together by their heartfelt poetry, but for me, a stand-out track is actually Elina's own, 'Let Us Dive In' written in English. When I first met Elina in 2013, she talked about language and the experience of going to school in Switzerland unable to speak French, “I was confronted with solitude which is something I didn't know existed because in Albania you were always surrounded with people all the time...This is where music helped me.” She had tapes of the Beatles and they became her friends until she settled into this new country. Learning the language was key to her survival then  and years later, in this new time of loss and change, Elina returned to that: she sings in nine languages on the album, including Hebrew and Arabic. It's an incredible statement. 

Elina Duni - Let Us Dive In

 

“I really learnt humility doing this solo”

Recorded at Le Buissonne studio with only Elina, trusted engineer Gerard de Haro, and Eicher himself, the sound is noticeably intimate. Of course she was nervous, there's nowhere to hide in such a setting, but the months she spent perfecting her delivery of the tracks was rewarded, and the recording experience was memorable. The way she uses her voice has evolved in this process, “I think my voice is more grounded...There is a danger with singers of listening to themselves and judging what sounds good whilst they're singing...it's a subtle balance between being real and truthful, and shaping the sound to the aesthetic you want. Enjoy your sound, but in a modest way. I really learnt humility doing this solo.”

Elina was singing at festivals in her native Albania by the tender age of five, and it shows in her performances onstage. She is natural and charismatic, pulling your attention to her; one moment she sparkles like an angel and the next you sense rich, wet soil, or a heady wine. She wears long dresses, is sometimes barefoot, and with a mane of ebony-red hair and lips a Gothic crimson, she seems to have stepped out of a folk tale. 

Her unique selling point has been to re-version the ballads of her homeland like a modern minstrel awakening audiences to their power. “You can feel the songs' strength because they've crossed centuries and the melodies are archaic and deep,” she explains. With her quartet of pianist Colin Vallon, bassist Patrice Moret and drummer Norbert Pfammatter she had a fruitful chemistry; they would take the the skeletons of these songs and make them feel relevant today. Elina brings them close to us whilst never straying into gross sentimentality, as in 'Vishnja' on her new album. It's a skill.

Elina Duni - Vishnja

“Albania in the 80s was another time. It doesn't exist anymore.”

“We all experience this torment, this feeling of being torn apart,” Elina says of loss, and it's true. I even feel that being an adult is like an exile - from childhood. Sometimes a glow of sunlight or certain perfume can suddenly take us 'back there', back to being a kid, and there is a whisper of sadness because that time has gone forever. Elina recalls an old phrase, “There are two tragedies in life: to have an awful childhood and to have a wonderful childhood!” Hers was happy and carefree, “Albania in the 80s was another time. It doesn't  exist anymore. There were no cars, no consumerism, no Coca Cola, no aluminium…We used to be happy  when we could eat chewing gum or chocolate because they were very rare.”

Although it was still under a Communist dictatorship, the People's Socialist Republic of Albania had cut ties – and therefore economic support from the Soviet Union and China – and was poverty-stricken. Duni knew one family with a fridge and the whole neighbourhood used it. However, amongst this lack of 'stuff', there was a lot of activity. She recalls: “We grew up jumping, climbing trees and running and fighting and being outside all the time. Imagination played a very important role. Everyone was writing poetry and reading. It was a golden time.” A vital part of her life now is to visit often and re-connect with artists there. She's collaborating again with Kleidi Eski who made the enchanting animated video for 'Sytë'. But Elina is also pressing forward, she doesn't want to repeat her past work. 

 

“I feel I did this Balkan thing loads”

“There are two Elinas,” she explains, “the sublime of Albania, and the Middle East - the woman that sings the pain. And there's the European one that listens to Serge Gainsbourg and loves the Beatles, who is more into irony, is less 'tragic' and more playful. I feel I did this Balkan thing loads and if I continue I'll start playing at being 'Elina the vocalist that sings Balkan songs'.” Now she wants to take her experience in a new direction and with Partir in the Swiss Billboard chart there's proof she's moving in the right direction. 

In new projects such as Aksham, a quintet playing original material, and her duo with UK guitarist Rob Luft, Elina wants to explore groove, African rhythms and other inspirations. She will re-version her solo album for this duo and do a UK tour including Manchester and London Jazz Festivals. She says of new partner Rob, “We met at a very interesting time. I always thought that what is deep is in the melancholy, in the slow lamentation, but the solo album made me think you can be meaningful in the lightness too.” She refers to the Japanese art of kinsugi; fusing broken pottery with gold to make it beautiful again, but in a new way. “With Rob we can find this lightness together,” she says and points to the video of the duo singing Gainsbourg's 'Couleur Cafe'. 

Elina Duni & Rob Luft - Couleur Café

In talking with her this time, her ambition for this new phase in her life is palpable. And there is a clear energy and confidence for original songwriting. Elina does not do things with half a heart; the schooling she's had in working with folk songs, along with her passion for musicians like Paul McCartney, will be put to great use. In some ways I feel Elina Duni has only just started, there is a definitely a lot more to come, and she will push herself to ensure it is of the highest quality. 

www.elinaduni.com
Partir (ECM Records) is out now

 

Elina Duni Discograhpy

Partir, ECM, 2018
Dallëndyshe, ECM, 2015
Muza e Zeze, 2014
Matanë Malit, ECM, 2012
Lume, Lume, Meta Records, 2010
I kalter, 2009
Baresha, Meta Records, 2008
Lakuriq, 2004

0:00
0:00

Porträt & Reportage

Quand Elina Duni devient légère

Elina Duni s’oriente vers plus de légèreté et de liberté en musique. Avec un album solo à la clef.

Debra Richards - 2018-06-12
Quand Elina Duni devient légère - ©Eduard Pagria
©Eduard Pagria
Quand Elina Duni devient légère - ©Clément Puig
©Clément Puig

Un tambourin et des larmes

Il y a deux ans, dans une allée sombre derrière le club du Moods à Zurich, Elina Duni me faisait écouter un enregistrement d’elle en anglais. Elle voulait savoir si son intonation et sa prononciation étaient correctes. Elle voulait sonner authentique. Elina venait de se lancer dans une odyssée, devenue depuis un album solo, Partir

Le mot « partir » doit être compris ici au niveau émotionnel. Elina Duni ne l’a pas choisi par hasard. « Je venais de déménager à Zurich et je ne savais pas ce que j’allais faire parce que nous venions de décider de mettre le quartet avec lequel je jouais depuis des années en pause. Je sortais aussi d’une longue et grande histoire d’amour. Je savais qu’il était temps pour moi de faire le chemin seule. Pour surmonter cette sensation de solitude, je devais m’y plonger profondément. Je devais me faire confiance et croire que quelque chose de bon allait sortir de ce nulle part dans lequel je me situais. »

Tout a commencé lors d’un spectacle au Cully Jazz Festival en 2015. Je m’en rappelle très clairement. Elina Duni s’est avancée vers la scène du temple, un tambourin à la main, les larmes roulant sur son visage. C’était tellement fort que ma gorge s’est immédiatement serrée ; j’ai eu les larmes aux yeux. Je ressentais physiquement l’impact de sa musique. S’accompagnant au piano et à la guitare, elle nous a emmené à travers des chansons de pertes et d’amour, entièrement seule sur scène.

 

« Ce sont les chansons qui m’ont séduite »

Sa performance était guidée par le sentiment de l’exil.  Cette sensation d’être en exil de sa ville, en exil de son groupe, en exil d’une longue et belle histoire d’amour lui a fait revivre son premier exil : le départ de l’Albanie vers la Suisse alors qu’elle était enfant. En miroir aussi, l’exode de tant de Syriens forcés de quitter leurs foyers. « Leur histoire est bien plus tragique. Ils n’ont rien et doivent croire en l’inconnu. Ils doivent continuer coûte que coûte. J’ai alors réalisé que je pouvais mettre ces trois histoires ensemble en un spectacle. Ce fut un moment très fort. J’ai commencé à écrire les textes. J’ai pris des chansons, certaines que je connaissais, d’autres aussi. Je ne peux pas dire comment je les ai choisies. Ce sont elles qui m’ont séduites ». A sa grande surprise, quand elle approcha Manfred Eicher de ECM, il accepte immédiatement d’en faire un album.

Partir inclut des chansons, du fado des morceaux de musique balkanique traditionnelle avec pour dénominateur commun une puissance poétique. Pourtant le morceau le plus frappant de cet album est à mon sens une composition d’Elina Duni « Let Us Dive In » écrite en anglais. Quand j’ai rencontré Elina en 2013, elle me parlait de l’importance du langage. Elle se remémorait aller à l’école en Suisse, en étant incapable de parler la langue. « J’ai été confrontée avec la solitude et c’était quelque chose que je ne connaissais pas. En Albanie, il y avait toujours des gens autour de moi… La musique m’a alors beaucoup aidée. »  Ses cassettes des Beatles devinrent ses meilleures amies. Apprendre le langage fut essentiel à sa survie. Des années plus tard, dans cet autre moment de perte et de changement, Elina y revient : elle chante en neuf langues sur cet album, y compris l’hébreu et l’arabe. C’est une affirmation incroyable.

Elina Duni - Let Us Dive In

« J’ai vraiment appris l’humilité en réalisant cet album solo »

Enregistré au studio La Buissonne par Elina, l’ingénieur du son Gérard de Haro et Manfred Eicher en personne, le son de Partir est intime. Bien sûr pendant l’enregistrement Elina était nerveuse. Dans cette configuration, il n’y nulle part où se cacher. Mais les mois qu’elle a passés à répéter et à peaufiner son répertoire ont été récompensés et l’expérience de l’enregistrement fut mémorable. La façon dont elle joue de sa voix a évolué dans ce nouveau contexte. « Je crois que ma voix est plus ancrée. J’ai cherché à créer une balance subtile entre être authentique et fidèle et façonner le son selon mon esthétique. L’idée est d’amener sa touche, d’en profiter, mais de façon modeste. J’ai vraiment appris l’humilité en faisant cet album solo. »

Elina chante dans des festivals dans son Albanie natale depuis l’âge de cinq ans et cela se sent dans sa performance sur scène. Elle est naturelle et charismatique, attirant irrésistiblement l’attention sur elle. Par moments elle scintille comme un ange. A d’autres endroits, il se dégage de ses prestations un sens de terre riche et humide ou de vin puissant. Vêtue d’une longue robe, parfois pieds nus, elle semble sortir d’un conte populaire avec sa crinière de cheveux ébène et roux et ses lèvres pourpres.

Son unique argument de vente a été de réarranger des ballades de sa terre d’origine comme un ménestrel des temps modernes et de les amener ainsi vers un nouveau public. « On peut sentir la force de ces chansons parce qu’elles ont traversé les siècles, leurs mélodies sont à la fois archaïques et profondes ».  Avec son quartet qui comprend le pianiste Colin Vallon, le bassiste Patrice Moret et le batteur Norbert Pfammatter, elle avait trouvé une chimie féconde en reprenant le squelette de ces chansons et en en faisant quelque chose. Elina donnait du sens à cette approche. Elle savait les rendre proches sans jamais sombrer dans le sentimentalisme. Sur son nouvel album, Vishnja fait à nouveau la démonstration de cet incroyable talent.

Elina Duni - Vishnja

« L’Albanie des années 80, c’était une autre époque, qui n’existe plus »

« Nous avons tous expérimenté ces tourmentes, cette sensation d’être déchirée » reprend Elina. Je ne peux qu’être d’accord. Il me semble même parfois qu’être un adulte est une forme d’exil de l’enfance. Une lueur, la lumière du soleil ou un parfum peut soudain me faire revenir en arrière. Et cela a toujours un léger goût de tristesse parce que ce temps est irrémédiablement révolu. « Il y a une phrase qui dit qu’il y a deux tragédies dans la vie : avoir une enfance horrible et avoir une enfance magnifique ! » s’exclame la chanteuse avant de reprendre : « L’Albanie des années 80 appartient à une autre époque, une époque qui n’existe plus. Il n’y avait pas de voiture, pas de Coca Cola, pas d’aluminium: la société de consommation n’existait pas. On était heureux quand on pouvait manger du chewing-gum ou du chocolat parce que c’étaient des denrées rares ». Même les gommes à mâcher avec un statut spécial.

Sous dictature communiste, la République socialiste d’Albanie entretenait des liens étroits et profitaient donc d’un soutien économique de l’Union soviétique et de la Chine. C’était néanmoins un foyer de pauvreté. Elina Duni connaissait une seule famille possédant un frigo et tout le quartier l’utilisait. « On a grandi en sautant, en grimpant aux arbres and courant et en se battant toujours à l’extérieur. L’imagination jouait un rôle très important. Tout le monde écrivait de la poésie et la lisait. C’était l’âge d'or. ». Une partie importante de sa vie consiste aujourd’hui à rendre visite à se reconnecter et à permettre à d’autres artistes de progresser. Elle collabore ainsi à nouveau avec Kleidi Eski, qui a fait la vidéo enchanteresse de Sytë.

 

« J’ai l’impression que j’ai fait beaucoup de ce “truc balkanique“ »

« Il y a deux Elina, explique-t-elle, celle de la sublime Albanie et du Moyen-Orient, la femme qui chante sa souffrance. Et il y a l’Européenne, celle qui écoute Serge Gainsbourg et adore les Beatles, qui est plus dans l’ironie, qui est moins tragique et plus taquine. J’ai l’impression d’avoir fait beaucoup de ce “truc balkanique“ et si je continue je vais finir par être étiquetée “Elina, la chanteuse des Balkans“. » Désormais elle veut s’orienter vers de nouvelles directions. Avec Partir, elle est rentrée en 49ème position des charts suisses, une preuve si besoin est qu’elle bouge dans le bon sens.

Dans ces nouveaux projets -  Aksham , un quintet qui ne joue qu’un répertoire original et son duo avec le guitariste anglais Rob Luft  - Elina veut explorer le groove, les rythmes africains et d’autres sources d’inspiration. De son nouveau partenaire Rob, elle dit : « Nous nous sommes rencontrés à un moment intéressant. J’ai toujours pensé que ce qui était profond était forcément mélancolique ou une sorte de lamentation lente, mais cet album solo me fait me rendre compte que la légèreté est aussi source de sens. » « Avec Rob, nous parvenons à trouver cette légèreté ensemble. », dit-elle en citant la vidéo Couleur Café en exemple. Elle fait encore référence à l’art japonais du kintsugi où l’on fait fondre des morceaux de poterie cassés avec de l’or liquide pour leur rendre leur beauté, différemment. 

Elina Duni & Rob Luft - Couleur Café

Elina va faire une version duo de son album en vue d’une tournée anglaise qui comprendra des concerts au London Jazz festival et à Manchester. En parlant avec elle, je me rends compte que son ambition pour cette nouvelle phase de sa carrière est bien palpable. Je sens aussi une nouvelle énergie, une envie d’écrire ses propres compositions. Elina ne fait pas les choses à moitié. L’école qu’elle a suivie - retravailler les chansons folk balkaniques ainsi que sa passion pour les musiciens européens comme Paul McCartney - va lui être plus qu’utile. D’une certaine façon, Elina vient seulement de commencer. Beaucoup de choses vont encore se passer. Et elle va se sublimer afin d’être au meilleur niveau. 

www.elinaduni.com  
Partir (ECM Records) is out now.
 

 

Discographie d'Elina Duni

Partir, ECM, 2018
Dallëndyshe, ECM, 2015
Muza e Zeze, 2014
Matanë Malit, ECM, 2012
Lume, Lume, Meta Records, 2010
I kalter, 2009
Baresha, Meta Records, 2008
Lakuriq, 2004

0:00
0:00