Danitsa, the Ego of the captain

Switzerland has a new star in its musical firmament: Danitsa.

Sophia Bischoff - 2018-02-20
Danitsa, the Ego of the captain - © srhsqn
© srhsqn

At the end of November 2017, Switzerland witnessed the birth of Ego, the first album of Danitsa, a Geneva girl with a strong musical temperament. After an unhurried progression, first in Paris, her native city, and then in Switzerland where she settled in 2006, Danitsa came out of the confines of the underground with an offering that one could have called a ‘well-rounded melting pot’. Created with the producer Vie d’Ange, Ego is rich in 16 pieces that explore the expression of girlpower, of inner quest or social criticism. 16 chapters that take us virtually around the world in 50 minutes.

 

 

A plural identity 

Contacted by telephone, Danitsa explains the title of her opus: "The first time I met Vie d’Ange, I asked him what he thought of me. He told me that he had heard that I had an oversized ego. I went home and thought about it all night. I don’t have such an ego, but I realised that as soon as you share your dreams and ambitions with people, they automatically think it goes to your head. I decided to call my album Ego to show that the ego is a strength and not arrogance." The opus combines hip-hop, electro, soul and reggae with influences from Latin America and Africa. And it’s no coincidence. Congo, Chad, Serbia, Spain and France: these are the flags that constitute Danitsa’s mixed identity.

On Thursday 1 February Danitsa’s ‘arrogance’ was displayed on the stage of the atypical Geneva Antigel Festival. High priestess of her art, the musician is full of energy - an energy that is so communicative that it penetrates the thick mass of smoke that fills the stage. Her flow, a reflection of Jamaican tradition, carries away the audience which unwinds. "When I record a piece, a melody and flow are born in my head. I don’t seek to work my flow so that it takes a certain shape, it’s solely my souls that expresses itself. My father is the producer of Skankytone reggae. I think he gave life to a little Jamaican in me which expresses itself in my flow."  

 

An inspiring personality

Although it’s a quality she did not seek to raise as flag bearer of her universe, one cannot help seeing in Danitsa one of the beacons of feminism in this so masculine world of hip-hop. "I have never wondered what my place was as a woman in this milieu. I make music for myself and to share it with others. I don’t try to compete with the other masculine hip-hop artists. I don’t wonder whether I will make it as a woman. You have to go for it – that’s how you make it. People think that to be a woman you have to be a bimbo or show your breasts to be better known. I want people to listen to me for my voice and not for my looks. If I want to wear dungarees or a low neckline, I am free to do so. More and more young women come to my concerts. If I can inspire them, it’s the greatest gift I can receive." 

As title follows title, Danitsa only adds to her popularity with the Antigel audience. A display of dance steps, nods of the head and vocal manifestations of amazement while the artist passes from song to rap in a subtle transition, all these resume the impressions of this audience. Supported by her little brother, Mr. Pops, who also takes the microphone on stage, Danitsa creates an atmosphere that is both mystic and federating, and propels the confidence that emanates from her aura to the four corners of the hall. No other place would suit her better than that of the moment. This is particularly apparent on Captain. "I wrote this piece at a period in my life when I was used to following the opinion of others. Then I said to myself that I should be my own guide of my life. Captain symbolises a goodbye to the bad vibrations and acquaintances surrounding me at that time. It has become my hymn."

 

Flying high

Since its release, Ego has had everyone talking about the artist. After conquering the radio landscape and the French-language print press, Danitsa won a Swiss Music Award in the category ‘Best Act Romandie’ on 9 February, and has already made her mark beyond the Röstigraben, the French-German linguistic divide. "After the launch at the Usine in Geneva, another launch took place at the Longstreet Bar in Zurich. It was incredible. I was really afraid. I didn’t know whether I would appeal to a Swiss-German audience. In the end, the hall was full to capacity."

Deserved recognition for an album which will certainly mark the Swiss music scene with a multi-coloured treble clef. 

 

Danitsa, Ego, Evidence Music

0:00
0:00

Danitsa, l’Ego de la capitaine

La Suisse compte une nouvelle étoile dans son firmament musical : Danitsa.

Sophia Bischoff - 2018-02-20
Danitsa, l’Ego de la capitaine - © srhsqn
© srhsqn

Fin novembre 2017, la Suisse est témoin de la naissance de Ego, premier album de Danitsa, une Genevoise au tempérament musical bien trempé. Après un parcours au pas qui ne connaît pas l’urgence, d’abord mené à Paris, sa ville natale, puis en Suisse où elle a posé ses valises en 2006, Danitsa sort des confins de l’underground avec une proposition que l’on aurait pu estampiller « melting-pot accompli ». Créé avec le producteur Vie d’Ange, Ego regorge de seize morceaux qui explorent le verbe du girlpower, de la quête intérieure ou de la critique sociale. Seize chapitres qui nous font presque faire le tour du monde en cinquante minutes.

 

Une identité plurielle

Jointe par téléphone, Danitsa explicite le titre de son opus : « La première fois que j’ai rencontré Vie d’Ange, je lui ai demandé ce qu’il pensait de moi. Il m’a dit qu’il avait entendu dire que j’avais un ego surdimensionné. Je suis rentrée chez moi et j’y ai réfléchi toute la nuit. Je n’ai pas un tel ego, mais je me suis rendu compte que dès que tu partages tes rêves et tes ambitions avec les gens, ils pensent automatiquement que tu as la grosse tête. J’ai décidé d’appeler mon album Ego pour montrer que l’ego est une force et non pas de l’arrogance. » L’opus assemble hip-hop, électro, soul et reggae à des influences d’Amérique Latine et d’Afrique. Et ce n’est pas un hasard. Congo, Tchad, Serbie, Espagne et France : tels sont les drapeaux qui constituent l’identité métissée de Danitsa.

Jeudi 1er février, Danitsa s’est illustrée sur la scène de l’atypique festival genevois Antigel. Grande prêtresse de son art, la musicienne déborde d’énergie. Une énergie si communicative qu’elle transperce l’épaisse masse de fumée qui règne sur scène. Son flow, précis d’obédience jamaïcaine, emporte l’audience qui se relâche. « Quand j’enregistre un morceau, une mélodie et un flow naissent dans ma tête. Je ne cherche pas à travailler mon flow pour qu’il prenne une certaine forme, c’est uniquement mon âme qui s’exprime. Mon père est le producteur de reggae Skankytone. Je pense qu’il a fait naitre une petite jamaïcaine en moi qui s’exprime dans mon flow. »  

 

Une personnalité inspirante

Même si c’est une qualité qu’elle n’a pas cherché à ériger en porte-drapeau de son univers, on ne peut s’empêcher de voir en Danitsa l’une des lueurs de féminisme dans ce monde si masculin qu’est le hip-hop. « Je ne me suis jamais demandée qu’elle était ma place en tant que femme dans ce milieu. Je fais de la musique pour moi et pour la partager aux autres. Je n’essaie pas d’être en concurrence avec les autres artistes masculins du hip-hop. Je ne me demande pas si, en tant que femme, je vais y arriver. Il faut foncer. C’est comme cela qu’on y arrivera. Les gens pensent que pour être une femme, tu dois être une bimbo ou montrer tes seins pour avoir plus de notoriété. Je veux que les gens m’écoutent pour ma voix et non pas pour mon physique. Si j’ai envie de mettre une salopette ou un décolleté, je suis libre de le faire. Il y a de plus en plus de jeunes femmes qui viennent à mes concerts. Si je peux les inspirer, c’est le plus beau cadeau que je puisse recevoir. »

Au fil des titres, Danitsa ne fait que renforcer l’engouement du public d’Antigel. Esquisses de pas de danse, hochements de tête et manifestations vocales de stupeur alors que l’artiste passe du chant au rap d’une transition subtile résument les impressions de cette audience. Secondée par son petit frère, Mr. Pops, qui prend également le micro sur scène, Danitsa crée une atmosphère à la fois mystique et fédératrice, et propulse la confiance qui émane de son aura aux quatre coins du lieu. Nulle autre place ne lui siérait mieux que celle de l’instant. Le qualificatif ressort particulièrement sur Captain. « J’ai écrit ce titre à une période de ma vie où j’avais l’habitude de suivre l’avis des autres. Je me suis alors dis que je devais être le propre guide de ma vie. Captain symbolise l’au revoir aux mauvaises vibrations et connaissances qui m’entouraient à l’époque. C’est devenu mon hymne. » 

 

Le vent en poupe

Depuis sa sortie, Ego ne cesse de faire parler de l’artiste. Après avoir conquis le paysage radiophonique et la presse écrite suisse romande, Danitsa a remporté un Swiss Music Award dans la catégorie Best Act Romandie, le 9 février dernier, et a déjà fait ses marques au-delà du Röstigraben. « Après le vernissage à l’Usine de Genève, on en a fait un au Longstreet Bar de Zurich. C’était incroyable. J’avais vraiment peur. Je ne savais pas si j’avais un public suisse-allemand. Au final, la salle était pleine à craquer. »

Une reconnaissance méritée pour un album qui marquera à coup sûr le paysage musical helvétique d’une clé de sol multicolore. 

Danitsa, Ego, Evidence Music

0:00
0:00