Bericht

Diversity is not just for plants

A beautiful book that pays hommage to Ateliers d’Ethnomusicologie and celebrates 35 years of this legendary institution.

Elisabeth Stoudmann, 2018-07-03
Diversity is not just for plants - ©Jonathan Watts
©Jonathan Watts
Diversity is not just for plants - ©Isabelle Meister
©Isabelle Meister

This wonderful book, “Genève aux rythmes des mondes”, by Arnaud Robert comes at a time when Laurent Aubert, founder of Les Ateliers d'ethnomusicologie, is retiring, just as this major institution of world music celebrates 35 years of existence, It’s a feel-good book that timely highlights Switzerland’s important position as a geographical and cultural crossroads.

"A centre of cultures, peoples and moving identities" the ethno-musicology workshops set up their headquarters in a small dead-end street near Cornavin train station in Geneva. The international city of Geneva, where some 190 nationalities coexist. Just get on any bus and tune your ears to the city of Calvin that has turned into a tower of Babel. By focusing on world music, Les Ateliers d'ethnomusicologie have reinterpreted this global and local cultural diversity in their own way.

Khaled Arman, Hossein Arman (links) and The Kabul Ensemble ©Isabelle Meister

 

From rubab to djembes

Arnaud Robert's book does a magnificent job of showing this sprawling world in sixteen chapters where the musicians like the famous Indian percussionist Zakir Hussain, the Irish Cretan lyra player Ross Daly, the maestro of the original rubab Khaled Armand, Kerala songstress Parvathi Baul, and wild percussionist Vincent Zanetti … all meet and interplay with each other from one page to the next.

Thanks to the voices of their peers and their entourage, those who are no longer here but have left their mark on history are also referenced: the percussionist Soungalo Coulibaly, Dumitru Cacuricà Baicu and Nicolae Neacsu (from Taraf de Haidouks), Ali Akbar Khan and many others.

 

Those who make music possible

The template set up by the ethnomusicology workshops is widespread: there are live concerts of course, but there’s also the school where teachers in exile work, the Cahiers d'ethnomusicologie (reference scientific journal) and the recordings. Lastly, there’s A La Croisée des Cultures’ internship, a legendary yearly meeting that happens at the beginning of summer conceived as a moment of discovery of the unknown and a place where "oral cultures communicate naturally between each other" according to its manager Astrid Stierlin. Its doors will open in a few days’ time at the workshops’ HQ and surroundings.

Arnaud Robert's book is a delight, from its cover - which looks like it’s made of wood - to its content which takes the form of an evocative narration rather than a historical discourse. Starting in Geneva, he takes us on a trip around the world. It’s a book to read this summer, something to give you hope in humanity through the music and the people who agitate for it to happen. As the former mayor of Geneva, André Vaissade, a historical ally of the ethno-musicology workshops once said : "diversity is not just for plants".

Arnaud Robert, Genève aux rythmes du monde, une histoire des ateliers d’ethnomusicologie, Labor et Fides, 247 pages.

0:00
0:00

Bericht

La diversité ce n’est pas que pour les plantes

Un très beau livre-hommage aux ateliers d’ethnomusicologie vient saluer les 35 ans d’existence de cette institution mythique.

Elisabeth Stoudmann, 2018-07-03
La diversité ce n’est pas que pour les plantes - ©Jonathan Watts
©Jonathan Watts
La diversité ce n’est pas que pour les plantes - ©Isabelle Meister
©Isabelle Meister

A l’heure où Laurent Aubert, fondateur des Ateliers d’ethnomusicologie prend sa retraite, à l’heure où cette institution majeure des musiques du monde fête ses 35 ans d’existence, paraît un très beau livre, signé Arnaud Robert, Genève aux rythmes du monde. Un livre qui fait du bien, un livre qui arrive à point nommé pour montrer que la Suisse a une place à prendre en tant que carrefour géographique et culturel.

« Maison des cultures, des peuples et des identités mouvantes », les Ateliers d’ethnomusicologie ont installé leurs QG dans une petite impasse tout près de la gare Cornavin à Genève. Genève ville internationale, mais Genève où cohabitent aussi quelque 190 nationalités. Il suffit de monter dans un bus et d’ouvrir ses oreilles pour constater que la Cité de Cavin s’est transformée en tour de Babel. En s’achoppant aux musiques du monde, les Ateliers d’ethnomusicologie ont retranscrit à leur manière cette diversité culturelle mondiale et locale.

 

Khaled Arman, Hossein Arman (à gauche) et l'Ensemble Kaboul ©Isabelle Meister

 

 

Du rubab aux djembés 

Le livre d’Arnaud Robert montre magnifiquement ce monde tentaculaire en seize chapitres où se côtoient et se répondent à quelques pages d’intervalle le célèbre percussionniste indien Zakir Hussain et le joueur irlandais de lyre crétois Ross Daly, Khaled Armand, maestro d’un rubab qu’il a façonné à sa meseure, Parvathi Baul, chanteuse du Kerala, Vincent Zanetti, percussionniste valaisan éperdu d’Afrique de l’Ouest.

Par la voix de leurs pairs ou de leur entourage sont évoqués aussi ceux qui ne sont plus là, mais qui ont marqué l’histoire du lieu : le percussionniste Soungalo Coulibaly, Dumitru Cacuricà Baicu ou Nicolae Neacsu (du Taraf de Haïdouks), Ali Akbar Khan et bien d’autres…

 

Ceux qui rendent les musiques possibles

Tentaculaire enfin le dispositif mis en place par les Ateliers d’ethnomusicologie : il y a les concerts bien sûr, mais aussi l’école dans laquelle interviennent pour la plupart des profs en exil, les cahiers d’ethnomusicologie (une revue scientifique de référence) et les disques. Enfin, le stage A la Croisée des Cultures, rendez-vous mythique annuel au début de l’été prévu comme un espace de découverte de l’autre et un lieu où « les cultures orales communiquent naturellement entre elles » selon sa responsable Astrid Stierlin. Il ouvrira ses portes dans quelques jours dans les locaux des ateliers et alentours.

Le livre d’Arnaud Robert est beau, de sa couverture - qu’on dirait en bois - à son contenu qui a préféré la forme du récit évocateur à celui du discours historique. Partant de Genève, il nous fait voyager dans le monde entier. Un livre à lire cet été pour vous redonner espoir en l’humain via la musique, via les musiques. Car comme le dit si bien l’ancien maire de Genève, André Vaissade, allié historique des ateliers d’ethnomusicologie « la diversité ce n’est pas que pour les plantes ».

 

Arnaud Robert, Genève aux rythmes du monde, une histoire des ateliers d’ethnomusicologie, Editions Labor et Fides, 247 pages.

0:00
0:00