Dossier

Switzerland, land of jazz

Panorama

The ever-changing face of Polymorphic Swiss jazz

Elisabeth Stoudmann - 2019-03-07
Switzerland, land of jazz -

Apart from some ‘big names’ like those of George Gruntz or Daniel Humair, Swiss jazz has remained rather unrecognized for too long. Yet since its beginnings, this musical style seduces the small mountainous country from within. It stirs up some important Swiss themes: curiosity, taste for innovation and regional particularities. This is brilliantly highlighted in the aptly titled "The Helvetic Confederation of Jazz" article by the French journalist, Franpi Barriaux.

The improvised music scene is particularly prolific in Switzerland thanks to the leading light that is Irene Schweizer. A light that hasn’t stopped shining since the early 60s, shifting music, notes and preconceived ideas. In 2018, Irène Schweizer won the Swiss Music Grand Prix: an opportunity for Christian Steulet, who knows her well, to draw her portrait.

Today, the most internationalized Swiss woman in music is Elina Duni who presides over various projects including Aksham in the company of the excellent Geneva pianist Marc Perrenoud and the very popular French trumpet player David Enhco. Another singer, another style, the Zuricher Lucia Cadotsch who offers a stunning revision of standards with her trio Speak Low. In Berne the new scene of improvised music simmers throughout the year, especially in March when the Jazz Werkstatt festival spends a week at the Turnhalle and extends its antennas to Europe and South Africa; a festival for musicians by musicians. Flashback on the edition 2018. 
And let us not forget the next generation!
As usual in Switzerland, we like to do things our way, with excellence, including and especially when it comes to jazz.

0:00
0:00

Dossier

La Suisse, terre de jazz

Panorama

Polymorphe le jazz helvétique est en constante mutation

Elisabeth Stoudmann - 2019-03-07
La Suisse, terre de jazz -

En dehors de quelques « grands noms » comme ceux de George Gruntz ou Daniel Humair, le jazz suisse est resté trop longtemps méconnu. Pourtant dès son apparition, ce style musical séduit dans notre petit pays montagneux. Il attise quelques-unes des fibres helvétiques : la curiosité, le goût pour l’innovation et les particularismes régionaux. C’est ce que prouve avec brio l’article judicieusement intitulé « Confédération Helvétique du Jazz » que lui consacre le journaliste français Franpi Barriaux. 

La scène des musiques improvisées est particulièrement prolixe en Helvétie avec en tête de file, une FEMME, Irène Schweizer, qui n’a cessé, depuis le début des années 60, de faire bouger les musiques, les notes, les idées préconçues. En 2018, Irène Schweizer a remporté le Grand Prix suisse de musique : l’occasion pour Christian Steulet, qui la connaît bien, de dresser son portrait.

Aujourd’hui, la femme suisse la plus internationalisée s’appelle Elina Duni. Elle officie dans différents projets dont Aksham en compagnie de l’excellent pianiste genevois Marc Perrenoud et du très en vogue trompettiste français David Enhco. Autre chanteuse, autre style : la Zurichoise Lucia Cadotsch propose une relecture renversante et boulversante de standards avec son trio Speak Low. A Berne la nouvelle scène des musiques improvisées bouillonne tout au long de l’année mais plus particulièrement au mois de mars quand le festival Jazz Werkstatt investit pendant une semaine la Turnhalle en étendant ses antennes vers l’Europe et l’Afrique du sud. Un festival pour les musicien-ne-s fait par les musicien-ne-s. Retour sur image de l'édition 2018. Et puis il y a la relève!
Comme à l’accoutumée en Suisse, on aime faire les choses à notre manière et avec excellence, y compris et surtout quand il s’agit de jazz.

0:00
0:00