Bericht

Friday night at Jazzwerkstatt Bern

Over a five day period, the jazz workshop in Bern was a hive of inventive music and exciting encounters. A real must !

Elisabeth Stoudmann, 2018-03-15
Friday night at Jazzwerkstatt Bern - Carlo Mombelli with the Euroregio Ensemble
Carlo Mombelli with the Euroregio Ensemble
Friday night at Jazzwerkstatt Bern - Carlo Mombelli with the Euroregio Ensemble
Carlo Mombelli with the Euroregio Ensemble
Friday night at Jazzwerkstatt Bern - Domi Chansorn
Domi Chansorn
Friday night at Jazzwerkstatt Bern -
Friday night at Jazzwerkstatt Bern -
Friday night at Jazzwerkstatt Bern -

It’s 7pm on Friday 2nd March: fifteen centimetres of snow, a bomb scare at Bern station and a votation to suppress the TV and radio licence fee the day after tomorrow. The atmosphere is tense as we head towards Berne's Turnhalle where Jazzwerkstatt has set up headquarters for a short week. The programme of festivities includes South African guitarist and composer Carlo Mombelli, head of the Euregio Jazzwerkstatt big band ; Shane Cooper and Kujua, an ensemble that includes his favorite musicians of the northern hemisphere ; the Synthetic Quartet from Austria who navigate somewhere between hip hop, electronics and jazz.

 

A festival for musicians by musicians

Warm atmosphere and young audience. As soon as we enter the Turnhalle, there’s no question of finding a conventional jazz club atmosphere here. The PROGR building which houses the Turnhalle (a two-storey performance hall) is an arts centre, a ‘cultural hub’ that also houses artists' studios, cultural offices and cafés. At reception, we find saxophonist Benedikt Reising, one of the three founding members of the Jazzwerkstatt association with his alter ego and fellow saxophonist, Marc Stucki. Later we meet the third founder, singer/vocalist Andreas Schaerer, who is absent from today’s festival organization because of an over-busy schedule. All three are musicians and this is one of the event’s main features: a festival for musicians by musicians.

Originally, it was the Austrian trumpet player, Martin Eberle, who put them in touch with Vienna Jazzwerkstatt, an event launched by local musicians in 2004 to create encounters based on loosely prepared musical exchanges, how to set up a musical label, in short how to collectively take in hand the destiny of a lot of improvisational artists. In 2008, Jazzwerkstatt Bern was born. Eleven years later, it has become an unmissable event for musicians from Switzerland and beyond, enamoured with crazy projects whether big band or solo, acoustic or electronic. Meanwhile, others have joined the constellation of this new kind of ‘jazz workshops’. The latest is the Südtirol Jazzfestival, which has created a collective with a variable geometry, ‘The Euroregio Jazzwerkstatt’, where musicians from Switzerland, Austria, Tyrol, Trentino and Holland can mingle.

 

A big band like no other

It is precisely this Euroregio ensemble which is the first on the line-up on Friday night in Bern, performing compositions of Carlo Mombelli who also directs the orchestra. From the start we are propelled into a bubbling, powerful world. Carlo Mombelli pays tribute to Joni Mitchell as well as performs a great ode to religions. He is surrounded by twelve musicians in an unusual configuration: two drums, shambolic saxophones and clarinets, an electric and acoustic bass, plus a vibraphone. He directs them with his fingertips and his whole body, stamping, trampling and dancing. The intensity is crazy, really giving the impression that Mombelli conjures up both telluric and cosmic forces. His music defies all stylistic categorization and acts as a catalyst for his musicians. They play with eager, for example the Italo-English Ruth Goller who launches into an astonishing electric bass solo.

 

Ruth Goller

 

South Africain connection

Later on that evening, Mombelli confirms : "I don’t usually reach such intensity when I play in Europe. Whereas in South Africa we always play as if it were our last concert. I am a self-taught musician, I’ve composed hundreds of songs without ever sitting at my desk. I connect with my experiences, with the earth. I want to create an atmosphere, touch the spirits. Music is a magical experience, a miracle."

This South African connection is particularly present in this edition. South African bassist, songwriter and producer Shane Cooper, also co-programmer of the festival, offers a rereading of his latest compositions with a European supergroup ‘met on youtube’. The formation includes, among others, Swiss drummer Domi Chansorn, impressive by his metronomic regularity juxtaposed with virtuoso rhythmic digressions which seem nevertheless quite simple.

 

Domi Chansorn

 

An ever-growing community

"I find that there’s a particular type of fever and ardor in this South African jazz scene" explains Benedikt Reising. "The music of Benjamin Jephta, Shane Cooper, Thandi Ntuli, Bokani Dyer and Mandla Mlangeni, as well as that of a maestro like Herbie Tsoaeli, radiates warmth and authenticity. This dazzles me particularly through the meaning of melody. Carlo Mombelli is a special case who speaks his own language, but for whom the melody is also a central element. I like sounds, I look for melodies."

The South African connection between Swiss and South African jazz is not new. Several Swiss-African groups are now enjoying careers because of it. Marc Stucki is a member of the Skyjack group alongside Andreas Tschopp, Kyle Shepherd, Shane Cooper and Kesivan Naidoo. The Rainmakers is a quartet formed by the Swiss bassist, Bänz Oester, with two South African musicians met at the Grahamstones National Arts Festival, plus a saxophonist. In June, Hildegard Lernt Fliegen, the mad sextet in which Andreas Schaerer meets Benedikt Reising, will fly to South Africa to participate in the same National Arts Festival and collaborate with local musicians. In September, Benedikt Reising, is due to return for three months to work more intensively with many of the musicians from this scene thanks to a grant from Pro Helvetia.

Jazzwerkstatt this year wasn’t just about Europe and South Africa. Co-programmer, Shane Cooper, invited a rare group of Moroccan Gnawa women led by guembri player Asmaa Hamzaoui. The latter collaborated with three Swedish musicians from the Cinémascope group for a moment of magical creation. Lastly, the god of the American double bass, William Parker, was also in the game. But how far can these jazzwerkstatts go? Who knows? "It's all a matter of community" concludes South African trumpeter Mandla Mlangeni."

www.jazzwerkstatt.ch

0:00
0:00

Bericht

Un vendredi soir au Jazzwerkstatt de Berne

Pendant cinq jours, l“atelier du jazz“ à Berne a foisonné de musique inventive et de rencontres enrichissantes. Un must !

Elisabeth Stoudmann, 2018-03-15
Un vendredi soir au Jazzwerkstatt de Berne - Carlo Mombelli et L'Euroregio
Carlo Mombelli et L'Euroregio
Un vendredi soir au Jazzwerkstatt de Berne - Carlo Mombelli et l'Euroregio
Carlo Mombelli et l'Euroregio
Un vendredi soir au Jazzwerkstatt de Berne - Domi Chansorn dans Kujua
Domi Chansorn dans Kujua
Un vendredi soir au Jazzwerkstatt de Berne -
Un vendredi soir au Jazzwerkstatt de Berne -
Un vendredi soir au Jazzwerkstatt de Berne -

Vendredi 2 mars, 19:00 : quinze centimètres de neige, une alerte à la bombe en gare de Berne, et les votations pour la suppression de la télévision et de la radio nationale prévues pour le surlendemain… l’ambiance est tendue alors que nous dirigeons nos pas vers la Turnhalle de Berne où Jazzwerkstatt de Bern a installé ses quartiers pour une petite semaine. Au programme des festivités : le guitariste et compositeur sud-africain Carlo Mombelli à la tête du big band Euregio Jazzwerkstatt, Shane Cooper et Kujua, un ensemble qui comprend ses musiciens préférés de l’hémisphère nord ainsi que, en final, les autrichiens du Synthetic Quartet, entre hip hop, électronique et jazz.

 

Un festival pour les musiciens fait par des musiciens

Ambiance chaleureuse, public jeune : dès que l’on entre dans la Turnhalle, on sent qu’il n’est pas question ici d’une ambiance jazz conventionnelle. Le bâtiment PROGR qui abrite la Turnhalle (une salle de spectacle sur deux étages) est un centre artistique, un « hub culturel » qui héberge aussi en son sein des ateliers d’artistes, des bureaux d’associations culturelles, des cafés. A l’accueil, le saxophoniste Benedikt Reising, l’un des trois membres fondateurs de l’association Jazzwerkstatt avec son alter ego, également saxophoniste, Marc Stucki. On croisera plus tard le troisième fondateur, le chanteur et vocaliste Andreas Schaerer, qui s’est aujourd’hui retiré de l’organisation du festival pour cause d’agenda trop chargé. Tous trois sont des musiciens. Et c’est là l’une des caractéristiques de cet événement : être un festival pour les musiciens fait par des musiciens.

A l’origine, c’est le trompettiste autrichien Martin Eberle qui les met en contact avec le Jazzwerkstatt de Vienne, un événement lancé en 2004 par certains de ses collègues dans le but de créer des rencontres, des échanges musicaux plus ou moins préparés, de monter un label... bref de prendre collectivement en main la destinée de pas mal d’artistes férus d’improvisation. En 2008, le Jazzwerkstatt de Berne naît. Onze ans plus tard, il est devenu un rendez-vous incontournable des artsites helvétiques et internationaux, épris de projets fous, en big band ou en solo, en version acoustique ou électronique. Entre-temps, d’autres ont rejoint la constellation de ces “ateliers de jazz“ d’un genre nouveau. Le dernier en date est le Südtirol Jazzfestival qui a créé un collectif à géométrie variable L’Euroregio Jazzwerkstatt dans lequel se côtoient des musiciens de Suisse, d’Autriche, du Tyrol, du Trentino et de Hollande.

 

Un big band pas comme les autres

L'Euroregio est justement le premier groupe programmé vendredi soir à Berne pour interpréter des compositions de Carlo Mombelli, également chef d’orchestre.  D’emblée on est propulsé dans un monde puissant, bouillonnant. Carlo Mombelli peut rendre hommage à Joni Mitchell comme réaliser une grande ode sur les religions. Il est entouré de douze musiciens dans une orchestration peu ordinaire : deux batteries, des sax et des clarinettes en pagaille, une basse électrique et acoustique, un vibraphone. Il les dirige du bout des doigts ou de tout son corps, trépignant, piétinant et dansant. L’intensité est folle et donne vraiment l’impression que Mombelli conjure tout à la fois forces telluriques et cosmiques. Sa musique, qui défie toute catégorisation stylistique, agit comme un catalyseur sur les musiciens. Ils jouent avec passion et détermination, ainsi l’Italo-anglaise Ruth Goller qui se lance dans un étonnant solo de basse électrique.

 

Ruth Goller

Connexion sud-africaine

Rencontré un peu plus tard dans la soirée, Mombelli confirme « Habituellement, quand je joue en Europe, je n’arrive pas à atteindre une telle intensité. En Afrique du sud, on joue toujours comme si c’était notre dernier concert. Je suis un musicien autodidacte, j’ai composé des centaines de morceaux sans jamais me mettre à mon bureau. Je me connecte avec mes expériences, avec la terre. Je veux créer une atmosphère, toucher les esprits. La musique est une expérience magique, un miracle ».

Cette connexion sud-africaine est particulièrement sensible dans cette édition. Le bassiste, compositeur et producteur sud-africain Shane Cooper, également co-programmateur du festival, propose d’ailleurs une relecture de ses toutes dernières compositions avec un super-groupe européen « rencontré sur youtube » qui comprend entre autres le batteur suisse Domi Chansorn, impressionnant par sa régularité métronomique juxtaposées à des digressions rythmiques virtuoses qui semblent pourtant toutes simples.

 

Domi Chansorn

 

Une communauté qui ne cesse de grandir

« Je trouve qu’il y a dans cette scène jazz sud-africaine une fièvre, une ardeur particulière. La musique de Benjamin Jephta, Shane Cooper, Thandi Ntuli, Bokani Dyer, Mandla Mlangeni, comme celle d’un maestro comme Herbie Tsoaeli, rayonne de chaleur et d’authenticité. Cela m’éblouit particulièrement à travers la signification de la mélodie. Carlo Mombelli est un cas particulier qui parle sa propre langue, mais pour qui la mélodie est aussi un élément central. J’aime les sons, je cherche les mélodies» précise Benedikt Reising.

La connexion sud-africaine entre le jazz suisse et sud-africain ne date pas d’hier. Plusieurs groupes helvetico-africains font aujourd’hui carrière. Marc Stucki est l’un des membres du groupe Skyjack aux côtés de Andreas Tschopp, Kyle Shepherd, Shane Cooper et Kesivan Naidoo. Rainmakers est un quartet créé par le contrebassiste helvétique Bänz Oester avec deux musiciens sud-africains rencontrés au Grahamstones National Arts Festival et un saxophoniste, à l'origine Ganesh Geymeier aujourd'hui remplacé par Nicolas Masson. Au mois de juin, Hildegard Lernt Fliegen, le sextet fou dans lequel se croise Andreas Schaerer et Benedikt Reising, s’envole d’ailleurs en direction de l’Afrique australe pour participer à ce même National Arts Festival et collaborer avec des musiciens locaux. En septembre, Beneditk Reising, grâce à une bourse de Pro Helvetia, y retourne pour trois mois afin de travailler de façon plus intensive avec plusieurs des musiciens issus de cette scène.

Cette année, au Jazzwerkstatt, il n’était plus seulement question d’Europe et d’Afrique du sud. Shane Cooper, co-programmateur, a invité l’un des rares groupes de femmes gnaouas marocaines, emmené par la joueuse de guembri Asmâa Hamzaoui. Ces dernières ont collaboré avec les trois musiciens suédois du groupe Cinémascope pour un moment de création magique. Enfin, le dieu de la contrebasse américain William Parker, était aussi de la partie. Mais jusqu’où iront donc ces jazzwerkstatt ? Qui sait ? «Jazzwerkstatt: c’est juste une question de communauté»  conclut le trompettiste sud-africain Mandla Mlangeni.

www.jazzwerkstatt.ch

0:00
0:00