Dossier :

Swiss Triplets : Andreas Ryser

Rittrati

"I see a lot of similarities between a football coach and a music manager"

Arthur Hnatek - 2021-01-08
Swiss Triplets : Andreas Ryser -

For this third interview, I went to meet someone with a rich experience of promotion and distribution of music in Switzerland. Andreas Ryser and his label Mouthwatering Records is one of the iconic figures of the national pop and electronic scene. A former musician, now very much involved in the music business as a promoter and manager, he seemed an interesting candidate for me to interview.

Andreas begins by retracing his career: his passion for volleyball, discovering the turntables at the Reitschule in Bern, his memorable performance at the Sonar festival in Barcelona. He ends with the story of his label, Mouthwatering Records.

 

As already mentioned by Nik Bärtsch in a previous podcast, Andreas Ryser discusses the evolution of the Swiss scene and its audience. He views this development very positively, but regrets that Swiss music and its business are not taken seriously enough and considered as vectors of export by politicians.

0:00
0:00

Dossier :

Swiss Triplets : Andreas Ryser

Rittrati

"Il y a de nombreuses ressemblances entre un coach de football et un manager de groupes."

Arthur Hnatek - 2021-01-08
Swiss Triplets : Andreas Ryser -

Pour cette troisième entrevue, je suis allé à la rencontre de quelqu'un qui avait une expérience plus directement liée à la promotion et à la distribution de la musique en Suisse. Andreas Ryser et son label Mouthwatering Records fait partie des figures emblématiques de la scène pop et électronique nationale. Ancien musicien, aujourd’hui très impliqué dans le business musical en tant que promoteur et manageur, il me paraissait intéressant de l’interroger. 

Pour commencer, Andreas retrace son parcours : sa passion pour le volley-ball, sa découverte des platines à la Reitschule de Bern, sa performance imposée au festival Sonar à Barcelone. Il finit avec l’histoire de son label, Mouthwatering Records.

 

Comme déjà thématisé par Nik Bärtsch dans un précédent podcast, Andreas Ryser évoque l’évolution de la scène suisse et de son public. Il voit d’un très bon œil ce développement mais il regrette que la musique suisse et son business ne soient pas suffisamment pris au sérieux et considéré comme des vecteurs d’exportation par les politiques. 

0:00
0:00